R.N.I. TELMUL/2016/73158 HSE No. 1051/2017-2019 [Price : Rs. 8-00 Paise.



# తెలంగాణ రాజపత్రము THE TELANGANA GAZETTE PART IV-A EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 8] HYDERABAD, THURSDAY, JULY 18, 2019.

## TELANGANA BILLS TELANGANA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

The following Bill was introduced in the Telangana Legislative Assembly on 18th July, 2019.

### L. A. BILL No. 8 OF 2019.

## A BILL TO AMEND THE TELANGANA STATE COMMISSION FOR DEBT RELIEF (SMALL FARMERS, AGRICULTURAL LABOURERS AND RURAL ARTISANS) ACT, 2016.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Telangana in the Seventieth Year of the Republic of India as follows:-

1. (1) This Act may be called the Telangana State Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural Artisans) (Amendment) Act, 2019.

[1]

Short title and commencement.

**B.** 44-1 (DA)

#### TELANGANA GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY [Part IV-A

(2) It shall be deemed to have come into force with effect from 24.06.2018.

Amend-<br/>ment of<br/>section 3.2. In the Telangana State Commission for DebtRelief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural<br/>Artisans) Act, 2016, in section 3, in sub-section (2), for<br/>item (i), the following shall be substituted, namely,-

"(i) an eminent person having experience : Chairman. and expertise in the field of law/ agriculture/economic sector

Repeal of Ordinance 5 of 2019.

2

3. The Telangana State Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural Artisans) (Amendment) Ordinance, 2019 is hereby repealed.

## July 18, 2019] TELANGANA GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY 3

### STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

The Telangana State Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural Artisans) Act, 2016 (Act No. 12 of 2016) enacted mainly to provide timely relief to the farming community, the Telangana State Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural Artisans) has to be constituted for the purpose of exercising the powers and performing the functions under the Act.

According to section 3 of the Act, the Commission shall consist of a Chairman and four members nominated by the Government and a retired High Court Judge has to be nominated by the Government as Chairman. It has been decided by the Government for appointment of "an eminent person having experience and expertise in the filed of law/agriculture/economic sector" by nomination as Chairman of the Commission, by suitably amending section 3(2)(i) of the Act and accordingly, the Telangana State Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural Artisans) (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018 (Telangana Ordinance No. 1 of 2018) has been pormulgated by the Governor on the 24th June, 2018 and the same has been published in the Telangana Gazette dated: the 24th June, 2018.

A replacement Bill for the said Ordinance could not be introduced in the Legislature of the State due to paucity of time. It has been decided to have continuity of law on the subject without there being any legal vacuum.

As the Legislature of the State was not then in session and it has become imperative for the Government to implement the said decision, immediately, the Telangana State Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural Artisans) (Amendment) Ordinance, 2019 (Telangana Ordinance No. 5 of 2019) has been promulgated by the Governor on the 11th July, 2019 and the same has been published in the Telangana Gazette dated: the 11th July, 2019.

This Bill seeks to replace the said Ordinance.

K.CHANDRASEKHAR RAO, CHIEF MINISTER.

## MEMORANDUM UNDER RULE 95 OF THE RULES OF PROCEDURE AND THE CONDUCT OF BUSINESS IN THE TELANGANA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY.

The Telangana State Commission for Debt Relief (Small Farmers, Agricultural Labourers and Rural Artisans) (Amendment) Bill, 2019, after it is passed by the Legislature of the State may be submitted to the Governor for his assent under article 200 of the Constitution of India.

QA2 HAF B2A50M5R0 L.

## K.CHANDRASEKHAR RAO,

CHIEF MINISTER.

Dr. V. NARASIMHA CHARYULU, Secretary to State Legislature.